SMBC Aviation Capital appoints four non-executive directors

SMBC Aviation Capital announces that it is to appoint four new non executive directors to its business. The Directors are Shinichiro Watanabe, Masahiko Oshima, Koichi Tanaka and Eiji Ishida.They will succeed Yoshinori Kawamura, Yasuyuki Kawasaki, Isao Sakata and Takeshi Murata.

“We are delighted to welcome our colleagues to the Board of SMBC Aviation Capital.Individually and collectively, they bring significant industry experience and we look forward to their counsel and input into the future of our business.On behalf of the Board, I would like to thank our outgoing Directors for their valuable contribution during their respective tenures.”

The Board of SMBC Aviation Capital comprises eleven (11) Directors being Peter Barrett (CEO), Catharine Ennis, (CLO), Barry Flannery (CFO), David Swan (COO), Brian Harvey, (CMO), Shinichi Hayashida (Chairman), Shinichiro Watanabe, Masaki Tachibana, Masahiko Oshima, Koichi Tanaka and Eiji Ishida.


Further details of newly appointed Directors:

  • Shinichiro Watanabe, Managing Director of SMFL
  • Masahiko Oshima, Senior Managing Executive Officer, Head of International Banking Unit of SMBC and Senior Managing Corporate Executive Officer, Head of International Business Unit, SMFG;
  • Koichi Tanaka, General Manager of Aviation & Maritime Strategy Dept. International Unit, SMBC and General Manager of Aviation & Maritime Planning Dept., SMFL; and
  • Eiji Ishida, Corporate Officer, General Manager, Lease, Ship and Aerospace Business Division of Sumitomo Corporation.

Latest tweets

Media enquiries:

Orla Benson
SMBC Aviation Capital

+353 1 859 9067



Rob Greening /Jack Hickey

+44 0 207 250 1446
+353 1 669 4633